Skip to content

To my Ethnican boyfriend on Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2011

These "Ethnican Flavor" chips are available at a Family Mart near you!

My dearest darlingest Rickins,

On Valentine’s Day, I wanted to thank you for a few things.

Thank you for living in a crazy place like China with me, where calling corn chips “ethnican” is totally okay. And thanks for staying here with me even after you open the bag of corn chips and the’re weird puffed vegetable crisps, not at all like the crunchy, delicious tortilla chips that you know and love. Thanks for living in a city with me where Mexican food is more than twice as expensive as Chinese food, and the closest Mexcian food most people have eaten is KFC’s 墨西哥鸡肉卷:

It may be delicious, but it's nowhere close to a real burrito.

I know it can’t be easy as a Texan and a Mexican to put up with this stuff. I know you took a risk moving here with me, as I took one moving here with you. And I know sometimes it’s tough, and sometimes you’re homesick. But I know you stick it out because we committed to this crazy adventure together as fiercely as we committed to each other all those months ago.

I love you so very much, and every day I am so grateful that you are in my life. Having lived abroad with you these six months, surviving the crowded metro stations, the terrible service, and the abuse of Mexican food, I know we can get through anything as long as we’re together.

Happy Valentine’s Day, my love, and thank you for making my life China not only bearable, but wonderful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:31 am

    Awwww! So sweet!

  2. February 14, 2011 7:03 am

    wayyyyyy too adorable. that’s the sound of me picking up the phone, and calling the adorable police.

Leave a Reply

