Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

January 5, 2011

Yeah, yeah, the obligatory resolutions post. It fits well with my thing for public declarations. I can’t help myself. But I thought I’d limit myself to Life-in-China related resolutions. That will cut down the list considerably and prevent a redux of the Healthy Living Pledge.

2011 New Year’s Resolutions (related to China)

1. Write more blog posts (goal: twice a week). The more I reflect and share about life here, the more meaning and purpose I get out of living in China. When I don’t write, I can’t remember why I’m living in a super crowded, polluted country full of people who spit on the street and yell at me all the time, not to mention the busses and mopeds that try to kill me on a daily basis and the threat of catching TB when I’m on the subway.

2. Take more pictures with my real camera. I’ve been really, really, really bad about pictures. I partially blame Backpackgate, because hey – no camera is a decent excuse. But I’ve had a replacement camera since Thanksgiving, and I have not gotten in the habit of visually chronicling my life abroad, aside from hastily-captured iPhone photos. A true shame. (Also, I should put more pictures on this blog. Photo fail.)

3. Keep in touch better with friends and family. I’m terrible at this – I know I’m terrible. I’ve been berated about this repeatedly by my sister and my best friend Michelle  since I left for college. It’s habit! But I’ll do better this year! And I’ll do more Facebook. At least once a week. That I can do.

4. Get a Chinese tutor. I studied all this Mandarin, and really, truly enjoyed it. I moved to Shanghai with the option to avoid work for one more year and study Chinese at Jiaotong University, but then I chose work instead–on the condition that I’d study Chinese on my own time and get a Chinese tutor. That plan royally failed. But it makes no sense for me to avoid this when, like I said, I enjoy it. Moreover, learning a new language makes you feel productive and great about yourself! Yeah! I’m gonna GO for it! You watch!  我在对自己说,“加油”!

5. Get involved! I want to nurture friendships here in Shanghai, but it’s hard to make friends when I only meet people at work. Only 20 people work in my office. Aside from my bosses, only four of us are expats now. I’m the only girl (of the expats). I need to get out there, join some organizations (or found some), and then hopefully make lifelong friendships. (I’ve already made some steps since getting back towards connecting with the expat theater community. We’ll see how that goes.)

6. Travel more. I need not let the cost deter me too much. When else will I get the chance to travel around China and East/Southeast Asia at such a low cost? The time is now! And what a great excuse to fulfill resolution #2!

Reasonable goals, I think. The only thing in my way is me. Time to take myself down. And lift myself up. At the same time. Think about that. (Paradoxes are so deep and insightful, huh? They’re like instant insight. Fair is foul and foul is fair – that was all we ever talked about in 10th grade English class.)

(Shut up, Morgan.)

(Okay.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:37 am

    You’re such a dork…but I love ya for it! I think #1 and #5 should be on my list of resolutions as well. I just booked my flights to go to Berlin in February, so hopefully that’s a step in the right direction!

Leave a Reply

