Skip to content

Things are looking up, and up, and up

October 1, 2010

Things are looking up, and I feel much better. Three major factors have contributed to my lift in spirits.

First of all, I’m on vacation!  It’s the National Day holiday here in China – today is the 61st anniversary of the Peoples Republic of China. We get a whole week off of work for this! And no, I don’t have to give up my next three weekends to make up for it.

A pictures someone else took of Huangshan mountain in Anhui province

What might otherwise be the perfect weekend to travel around China is — like traffic and indoor voices– ruined by the number of people in this country. It’s one of the busiest travel weeks of the year, and everywhere will be packed, including Shanghai.

For nice little getaway that’s within our small budget, Rick and I are spending this weekend at the famous, scenic mountain Huangshan, or Yellow Mountain. It’s a cheap train ride away, and look at the thing!

The second reason things are looking up is that the things that were plaguing me these last couple of weeks – work and my weight – have both improved immensely. Work has really picked up for me. I’m feeling more comfortable and more confident, probably because I’ve actually been given work to do! When I’m busy, the day flies by.  My weight is still an issue, but the pledge I made a week ago (and posted on this blog) has really worked. Remembering the rules I set for myself helps me keep my resolve.

And finally, number three, is that I know when I’ll next be home: I’m going to Harvard on November 20th to see my college a cappella group’s 25th anniversary jam, and see the Harvard Yale football game! Then I’ll be heading home for Thanksgiving. I’m thrilled, and it’s so nice to have an actual date to look forward to.

I have to run and catch a train, but pictures and a few long updates to come while I don’t have work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. CBuck permalink
    October 5, 2010 11:00 pm

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYY
    YOU CAN STAY WITH ME
    IN MY ROOM IN MY BED IN MY HEART
    IM GONNA POOOOOPIES MYSELF
    IS RICK COMING TOO???????

  2. Salsa permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:38 am

    HOLY EFFING SHIT. SEE YOU THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

