Skip to content

Did I sell out?

August 30, 2010

When Rick and I decided to move to China, it was all about adventure, spontaneity. We avoided all that recruiting nonsense at Harvard. Why compete fiercely to work for a big bank, we said, when this is our chance to really live, take risks, be poor and young? We would live in a foreign country, roll with the punches, figure it out as we went along, we told ourselves. We had hardly any plans, no jobs – we took a deep breath and …  jumped!

Where did we land? Finance and Consulting.

I don’t really know how this happened, but it’s pretty ironic. I’m not complaining – I’m very excited about my new job, which I started today. The office is comfy, the people are all very nice and clearly intelligent, and I know I’ll learn so very much over the next stretch. Still… it’s finance. I work in financial services.

This just isn’t how I imagined it.

Rick’s job is certainly more risky and colorful, because although it’s technically consulting, it is a startup. My firm, on the other hand, is very established.

Well, I’m going to make the most of this experience. Maybe finance is my calling. You never know until you try. It’s certainly an exciting time to work in finance in China, with the recent banking boom and the upsurging economy.

Still… my entrepreneurial dreams will remain, along with stores of other dreams. This is just one step in my journey. Is it down a somewhat beaten path? Yes, but at least that path is is China and not on Wall Street.

And, of course, a big element to “sellout” is that you are choosing a path to material wealth instead of following your heart or your dreams. Let’s just say, I’m not getting a six-figure salary. I’m not even getting a five-digit salary in yuan–fairly, inexperienced intern that I am.  Also, my dream was to live in China for awhile, and I certainly didn’t give that up.

So, I’m no sellout. Yet. … Right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Morgan permalink
    August 30, 2010 3:41 pm

    I was just thinking about you a couple days ago so I was pleasantly surprised to see an update!

    No way Morgie! You’re not a sellout!! Like you said, this is just another step on your journey and part of your adventure! And it’s all kinds of exciting! Congratulations on the new job and I hope it continues to be enjoyable.

    Love,
    Morgie C

  2. Mom permalink
    August 30, 2010 5:15 pm

    You’re not selling out! Every job you work is a building block to realizing your dreams. Whatever you ultimately decide to do, it can’t hurt to know something about finance.

  3. August 30, 2010 5:55 pm

    amen mama mallory.

Leave a Reply

